Prayers for Dr. Walker

Posted on August 28, 2009


Ok, I admit, I was (and still to some sense) peeved at the disintergration of what could have been a year to remember at Crichton, however the peeve that I have was never with the students or the faculty and staff.

It was the adminstration who bungled things, leaving us to either risk having our degrees null and void or finding another school, which is something yours truly did.

But enough of that, one of my favorite professors, Dr. John Walker, who I took in 2007-08 for World Literature and passed with a high C, has been in a fight for his life throughout much of the spring and summer.

As many people knew around Crichton, Walker has been paralyzed since his teen years, due to a swimming accident in his native Pennsylvania, but his life since then has been extrordinary.

The last time I saw Dr. Walker, it was prior to school ending last year in my American Literature II class, a class that he was teaching. I told him I was about to leave class early and head home and I would see him tomorrow.

However, as the school year came to a close, he didn’t come back and our class was subbed by Debbie Graham, another great professor at Crichton.

Lately, Dr. Walker has been diagnosed with bladder cancer, and his bladder was removed. I really don’t have a clue which hospital Dr. Walker is in, but all I ask for you guys to pray for him as he goes through this health ordeal. Pray for the doctors as well as his family at this time and that God will move in His direction for Walker’s soul.

If you’re on Facebook, join Walker’s Recovery Team. That is the group for his recovery team. If you’re a former Crichton student like myself, there was some way that Dr. Walker shaped your lives.

Posted in: Prayer Requests