Safe to say, nothing stupid came out of my mouth

Posted on January 28, 2010

0


A long time ago, I asked a rhetorical question to a co-worker after one of my shows.

“Do you think I could get the softball coach on the air?” I asked.

“Anything is possible,” he said.

Well on Wednesday afternoon, Kevin Garnett’s quote after the Boston Celtics won the NBA title in 2008 rang true as we had CBU softball coaches Kimmi Hayden and Leila Dolfo on the show yesterday.

While yours truly don’t have crushes or anything on these two lovely ladies, I found myself as well as correspondent Nico Hardaway sweating while they were in the studio with us talking about the upcoming season for softball, which reminded me of that Sports Illustrated cover of Mark Prior and Kerry Wood from 2003:

Where Mark Prior be at?

The difference between Ms. Hayden and Michelle Wilkes, who was softball coach at Crichton when I arrived there in 2007, is that she’s professional and listens to coaches who have inspired her (think Josh Pastner) while Coach Michelle, who is like a full year older than me, tried to be more like the player’s friend than coach.

Anyway, here’s the episode from yesterday available for download and listening:

Southern Times, Girls, and Sports (January 27, 2010)