Darlington has always captivated me

Posted on May 5, 2010

0


Posted on Wednesday,May 5, 2010 by Doc Hancock

I began my distant love affair with NASCAR in the summer of 1995, when I watched the 1995 Southern 500.

That year, Jeff Gordon won the first of five straight Southern 500s and also his first Winston Cup championship.

The reason I became a causal observer of NASCAR was because of the track that the Southern 500 was held at.

Darlington Raceway.

The track, which was built in 1950 on an old peanut farm and cotton field, has been home to some of the greatest moments in NASCAR history, one of which I had a view of during Spring Break of 2003.

In a photo finish, Ricky Craven edged out Kurt Busch to earn his last Winston Cup win and in turn the last driver to win in a Pontiac.

Two years before, in what was one of the last sporting events this country would watch in innocence, I saw Ward Burton win the Southern 500 on Labor Day weekend and when I made the dreadful move with my family to the Rhodes college area, I watched Terry Labonte win his last race in the 2003 edition of the Southern 500.

This weekend under the lights, Darlington will be again home to fans as well as the bite of the “Lady in Black”.

Hopefully, the bite of the lady won’t bite too hard.

Wait, that seems to be a stretch.

Posted in: NASCAR